#### Resident Members

Debra C. Ames James Caristi Joseph W. Creech Sarah Glenn DeMaris Melissa Desjarlais Randa J. Duvick Bonnie Dahlke Goebbert Samuel Graber Carter F. Hanson Lisa M. Jennings David Johnson Kenneth H. Klein Tiffany Kolba Rosalie Berger Levinson JoEllen Lind Timothy B. Malchow Stacy E. Maugans Lara Pudwell Marian J. Rubchak Mark R. Schwehn Colleen M. Seguin **Julien Smith** Anna Stewart Patrick J. Sullivan **Robert Swanson** Albert R. Trost, Jr. Susan VanZanten J. Michael Yohe Stanislaus A. Zygmunt

Phi Beta Kappa, founded in 1776 at the University of William and Mary in Virginia, is America's most prestigious academic honor society. It recognizes excellence in the liberal arts and sciences and champions freedom of thought. Each year Valparaiso University inducts seniors and some juniors who have shown academic excellence in the breadth and depth of their studies in the liberal arts and sciences, as well as, on occasion, select alumni who have demonstrated values consonant with liberal education in their work and lives. Valparaiso University has sheltered a chapter of Phi Beta Kappa since 2004.

### The Phi Beta Kappa Society

# Eta of Indiana Chapter at Valparaiso University



Initiation Ceremony
Friday, May 14, 2021 at 3:00 pm
Ballrooms
Valparaiso University Harre Union
and online

## 2021 Initiates

#### Members in Course

Matthew Aberman (Criminology and Psychology)

Anna Bedalov (Creative Writing and Humanities)

Grace Biermann (English and Humanities)

Sarah Bortz (Business Analytics and Spanish)

Noelle Canty (English and Humanities)

Keegan Carrasco (Theatre)

Raquel Chavez (Political Science)

Brennan Dettmann (Meteorology)

Miranda Engholm (French and Global Service)

Cecelia Frankewich (Public Health and Spanish)

Bianca Gamez (Political Science and French)

Madison Henry (English and Political Science)

Payton Hodson (Psychology and Spanish)

Jonah Hunter (Bioengineering)

Alyssa Jarabek (Chemistry and Biology)

Jenna Johnston (Environmental Science and Biology)

Hailey Kmetty (Global Service)

Edward Kostelnik (Chemistry and Biology)

Monique LeDonne (Biology and Chinese & Japanese Studies)

Julia Marhenke (International Economics & Cultural Affairs and French)

Maria Marzullo (International Relations)

Sarah Messerschmidt (German and International Economics & Cultural Affairs)

Jacob Nadolsky (Meteorology)

Stacey Province (Global Service and Spanish)

Yasmin Ramos (Psychology and Spanish)

Alyssa Rosselli (Spanish)

Michael Speckhard (Theology)

Kaitlyn Steinhiser (Political Science and Communication)

Rebecca Stockham (English and Creative Writing)

Lily Warren (International Business)

Claire Weseman (Psychology)

Mirica Yancey (Computer Science)

Dalia Yehyawi (Psychology)

#### Alumna Member

Ambassador Maria Brewer, M.S. (B.A. Valparaiso University '95)

# Program

### The Ritual of Initiation

### by Officers

Randa J. Duvick, President Anna Stewart, Guide Stacy Maugans, Historian Patrick Sullivan, Secretary

Members in Course Alumna Member

### **Address**

Chief Judge Rebecca R. Pallmeyer (VU '76)

### Welcome

David Hirschey, representing the Phi Beta Kappa Association of the Chicago Area (PBKACA)

The Eta of Indiana Chapter of the Phi Beta Kappa Society is grateful for the generous financial support of the College of Arts and Sciences and Christ College at Valparaiso University as well as friends and members of the Chapter.